I'm getting in the spirit of St. Patrick's Day. Clearly, I'm thrilled about my new shamrock shades!

Helloooooo Friends!

It sure has been awhile since my last post!  My mom has been really busy, and unfortunately I need help with this typing business since I have no opposable thumbs.

I’ve had a busy couple of weeks, but things are slowing down a bit now that the basketball season is over.  I must say, I was sad to see the season come to an end.  It seemed to go really fast this year.  I had a great time, but I’m admittedly a little bitter that I didn’t get to run the teams out as much as usual this year.  You see, it’s a two person job.  Or at least my parents insist that it is.  Here’s how it goes down, in case you haven’t seen it.  My dad has to hold me back at the start because I really like to go after the ball, and sometimes I’m a bit premature in my attack.  Let me tell you, I give him one heck of a work out!  What can I say, though, I’m a force to be reckoned with!  While my dad battles the beast (me) at the starting corner, my mom has to be at the opposite one, waiting to “retrieve” me.  I find the term “retrieve” a little bit offensive.  I don’t need “retrieving.”  It’s actually very simple – I’m focused on the ball, and once I get it I’m as happy as a clam!  And trust me, I’m so tired out by the time I get across the court that I’m not going anywhere.  No matter what, though, they think they need someone at each end to “handle” me, and since my dad has been in Sioux City for the majority of the season working (he says something about having to support my eating habits… whatever) he hasn’t been there to help much.  This has left me high and dry, without my ritualistic ball chase to lead the teams out onto the court for many of the games this season.  It has always been my most proud moment, so I’m feeling a little bit depressed about it.  Don’t worry, though, I’ll be back next year.  I’m going to practice my sprints in the off-season since I’m a little rusty.

This picture is from the last game of the season at the Knapp Center. I like to hang out in the stands with the fans.

When I finally stop going after Spike, we can actually get a good picture of the two of us together! We look good!

Hold me back, Dad, hold me back! This is me waiting to be let loose so I can race across the court after the ball. I'm very agitated in this picture. Can you tell???

Check me out! They love to put me up on the big screen at the Knapp Center!

Do you think I'll make their family Christmas card?

Speaking of my dad and his weekly treks to Sioux City for work… he’s moving home!!!  He was fortunate enough to be hired at Polk County, which happens to be his dream job!  We are all very excited to have him home for good.  Enough with this weekend visit nonsense.  A boy’s got to have a father figure!  Maybe that’s why Magoo’s behavior is so out of control.  No one seems to see it besides me, but Magoo needs some serious discipline.

Who in the world actually sleeps like this? Magoo. That's who.

Look at how VICIOUS Magoo is! What an animal!

I know exactly what Rush Limbaugh would call Magoo...

Magoo is so lazy. He even has to rest his head on the coffee table when he sleeps like this. Unbelievable.

I'm telling you, he's an absolute disaster! We can't take him anywhere.

Magoo got his face put on a bottle of wine for my mom's birthday. He thinks he's hot stuff now. I don't know about you, but I haven't seen HIS picture up at a McDonald's lately...

This is Magoo's "Can we PLEEEEASE go outside?" look. Trust me, we see it ALL THE TIME. I even see it in my sleep.

I had another prestigious scholarship event for incoming freshman at Drake.  Once again, I worked the crowd and made them fall in love with the University.  I think that’s actually why they ask me to come – they want to get those smart kids to commit to Drake for next Fall!  I have no doubt that this strategy works like a charm.  I always get introduced by President Maxwell and his wife at the event, but this time I got to hang out on the stage during all the speeches from start to finish.  Okay, I admit it.  They let me stay up there because I accidentally fell asleep on the job.  Beauty sleep, people, beauty sleep!  Don’t judge.

Sporting the bow tie for the prestigious scholarship event a few weeks ago. I mingle with the best of them.

Yes, I fell asleep on stage. What.

So I seem to have struck a new level of fame.  My picture is officially gracing the wall at McDonald’s at 31st Street and Forest Avenue in Des Moines.  I expect throngs of people to be lined up waiting to get a glimpse of me in all my glory.  I must say, I am looking pretty darn handsome in the photo.  There are no frills and no outfits… just a man in his birthday suit.  It’s stunning, really.

Yep, it's official. I'm officially a "big dog." Don't I look handsome??? I mean really, check me out!

My parents have been staying busy with their volunteer work for the Illinois English Bulldog Rescue, and this means I have been kept busy as well.  When someone applies to adopt a bully from IEBR, there is an online application, a vet check, a phone interview, and a home visit.  It is an extensive and thorough process, which is awesome, because that way we know the homes that get approved are top-notch.  Nothing but the best for IEBR bullies!  Anyway, the rescue is, obviously, based in Illinois.  However, they are establishing more and more of a presence in Iowa, which is very exciting!  We have acquired several new volunteers in the Des Moines area, which means we have been able to approve several new adoptive families in the area as well (such as Lila’s family and Drake’s family)!  We’re taking over Iowa, my friends!  Beyond fostering, which is a 24/7 job, my parents have done a few home visits in the Des Moines area over the past few weeks.  Lucky me, I sometimes get to go along.  Sometimes they take the foster dog that is with us and other times they take me on the visit.  It’s fun to see the new houses, meet the new people, and explore the place.  I like that I get to put my stamp of approval.

I need to vent for a moment about none other than the obvious frustration in my life – Mister Magoo.  My mom will bring home a new toy for US once in awhile (please note that the key word here is “US”).  Okay, so it happens a lot because she can’t help but spoil us with toys and treats.  Personally, I could do with fewer toys and more treats, but that’s just me.  Anyway, I digress.  Back to my very valid complaint.  Before any of the rest of us even see that my mom has a new toy for US in her hand, Magoo takes it and runs off with it.  I tell him the toy is to be shared, but he just runs around me and totally flaunts the fact that he’s faster than the rest of us and has the prized toy all to himself.  It’s so rude.  Speaking of which, if anyone is interested in adopting this gem of a brother, I’m currently taking applications.  He’s free and comes with a whole slew of ridiculousness.  Just kidding… he’s oddly very lovable.

Look at him flaunt the new toy. Come on, Magoo, share with the rest of us! Can you tell I'm very, very frustrated???

Look at how badly we want to play with the toy too! Magoo is such a bully.

Please take note of this picture. It's rare to see the rest of us playing with a toy WITHOUT Magoo hogging it! We won for once!!! I felt that the girls needed a referee, so I kindly provided that service. I'm pretty good at keeping everyone in line.

Miracles DO happen! I got the toy all to myself for a brief period for once, and it was amazing!!! I just sat there and stared at it. I couldn't believe it.

If Magoo could do this, he certainly would. He's so jealous of this dog, it's not even funny.

My birthday is in just 22 short days.  I’ll be turning the lucky seven years of age.  I’m hoping for a birthday party, complete with cake.  If you ask me, each year is worth celebrating!  Especially if it means I get treats!

Miss Lola is doing great.  She is such a wonderful, sweet, loving, well-behaved girl.  She’s very funny, too!  We absolutely adore her around here.  She is scheduled for her eye surgery and spay this coming Wednesday.  I always get nervous when my pals need surgery.  Last August, we had an absolutely devastating experience with sweet Tilly, our foster sister that was rescued from a Missouri puppy mill.  She passed away due to complications related to her spay surgery.  Losing her was the hardest thing we’ve ever gone through and I don’t ever want to experience anything like it again.  We think of her daily and will never forget our Tilly bean.  I am confident that Lola will do well on Wednesday, though.  She’s generally healthy and she’ll be in great hands with Dr. Wayne.  Please send some positive thoughts her way if you think of it!  Once she has her surgeries under her belt, she’ll be ready to go to her new home.  We will be so happy for her, but heartbroken at the same time.  It’s the downside of this foster business.

Magoo smothers Lola. She just can't get any room to breathe around here.

We just LOVE Lola. She's the best.

Lola giving Candie a paw to the face while they snuggle together. It's a little bit Magoo-like!

It's always a competition for the spot closest to my mom and dad. Lola took matters into her own hands the other night when she found herself on the "wrong" end of the couch. She climbed right over the top of all three of us to get to her, and she ended up laying down right on top of Candie! She was a happy, happy girl for the rest of the evening. Good thing Candie didn't mind!

I love this picture. So funny! Not sure what they were up to, but Lola definitely looks guilty. She and Candie are good buddies!

Lola is such a little peanut! She is so stinkin' cute. I wish we could keep her!

My mom drives around Polk County all day visiting her patients.  When the weather gets nice, she will sometimes take me along for the ride.  I LOVE it!!!  It’s my favorite thing in the world (next to basketballs and anything edible).  This week has been gorgeous in Des Moines – perfect bulldog weather, not too hot and not too cold.  I got to do a ride-along TWO days this week!  It. Was. Awesome.  Magoo gets to come too.  I really do love my brother, even though I complain about his antics sometimes.  He’s pretty darn sweet, I must admit.

Can you tell how thoroughly happy I am that I get to ride along with my mom??? I love it!!!

So I got to go back to the hospital to visit sick people today.  I went with my usual Saturday morning group of therapy dogs and once again, we were a hit.  I kept trying to get my mom to push me around in a wheelchair, but she just kept telling me to “suck it up, Porterhouse.”  There’s a new, young whipper-snapper that has joined us and his name is Rocky.  He is a boxer, and his personality is alarmingly similar to Mister Magoo.  He’s only a year old and a little excitable, but I really like him.  He and I get along great.

My pal Rocky and me taking a break from the rigorous visiting of patients in the rehab room at Methodist Hospital.

Can I get a ride in a wheelchair or what? These short legs only last so long, people.

If you are interested in adopting an IEBR bully, please visit our website:  www.ilenglishbulldogrescue.org.  The first step is to complete an online application.  There are a lot of AWESOME bulldogs waiting to be adopted, so check them out!  If you are thinking about getting a dog, but not necessarily a bulldog, please ADOPT… don’t shop.  There are so many fantastic dogs of all shapes and sizes sitting in shelters everywhere right this minute.  Save a life!

I sincerely hope all of you Iowans are engaged in the current legislation surrounding puppy mills in our state.  Remember, we are NUMBER 2 in the NATION for the number of mills.  It’s SICK!  Now you all know by now that I LOVE Iowa.  However, our puppy mill problem is definitely not something to be proud of.  So… let’s do something!  Please visit WWW.IOWAVCA.ORG for more information and to find out how you can help the cause.  The dogs need us… dogs like Candie and Tilly and so many others.

Magoo, flanked (as usual) by the ladies.

Pretty girl!

Magoo and Candie are such good cuddle buddies!

Well, I finally found something Magoo is good for: holding my head up while I sleep. Thanks, pal!

She just loves him. Still trying to figure out exactly what it is that she sees in him... (-;

We love to lay in the sun first thing in the mornings. Actually, first thing AFTER we eat breakfast. Priorities!

Candie thought for a minute that she might be able to escape bath time this week. Unfortunately, she quickly realized that her legs are about 12 inches too short to make it happen. She was stuck. Welcome to my world, Candie.

Best friends!

What can I say, Magoo loves me!

Thanks for visiting my blog, friends!  Please write a comment if you have any questions, etc.

Until next time…

Peace, Love, and Bulldogs,

Porterhouse

About Porterhouse's Pet Project

My name is Porterhouse, and I am a beautiful (if I do say so myself) 6 year old English Bulldog. For my day job, I am the official live mascot for Drake University (Go Bulldogs!). My favorite duty is leading the Drake basketball teams onto the court for their games at the Knapp Center because I get to chase a ball all the way across for my wonderful and adoring fans! It. Is. Awesome. My other passion is volunteering for the Illinois English Bulldog Rescue (IEBR). Let's be honest - I've led a pretty charmed life. It's the least I can do to share my throne... I mean couch... with some English Bulldogs in need! My home is what they call a "foster home" and my family is what they call a "foster family" for IEBR. We take in Bulldogs that find themselves in all kinds of unfortunate circumstances, to no fault of their own. I really do love my foster siblings, and I love helping my fellow bullies. IEBR is amazing and I am so glad I get the opportunity here on this blog of my very own to tell you all about this great organization, the plight of my fellow bullies, and the different ones up for adoption. There is so much to share! To tell you the truth, I've been dreaming of the day that I, Porterhouse, break onto the blog scene! I thank you for reading what I have to say.

2 responses »

  1. Jenn says:

    Thanks so much for sharing the adventures of your crazy little bulldog family! My soon-to-be-husband and I are eagerly waiting to adopt a bulldog to our family so until then keeping up with Porterhouse is a great substitute (but not nearly cuddly enough – ha!)

  2. Excellent blog you have here but I was curious about if
    you knew of any message boards that cover the same topics discussed here?

    I’d really like to be a part of online community where I can get opinions from other knowledgeable people that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Bless you!

Leave a Reply

